Young Scholars Awards

The Young Scholar Award is awarded for the best original essay on any topic of relevance to the history of the veterinary field.  The competition is open to current students of all educational backgrounds, and to those within 5 years of the award of their PhD or equivalent professional degree (eg DVM, VetMB etc).

Read about the latest winning entry


  • First Prize: Karl Bruno, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (Sweden): ‘Practical Training for Modern Practitioners: Nils Lagerlöf, India, and Early Swedish Development Aid at the Veterinary College’
  • Second Prize:  Kit Heintzman, Harvard University (USA): ‘A cabinet of the ordinary: Domesticating veterinary medicine’
  • Third Prize: Julie Hipperson, Kings College London (UK): “While a tear is in the eye’: women and the gendered business of small animal practice in interwar Britain’


  • First Prize James Stark, University of Leeds (UK): ‘Before Anthrax was Anthrax: Animals, Humans and Disease Plurality in the c19th Century’
  • Second Prize Rebecca KaplanUniversity of California Berkeley (USA): ‘The impact of veterinary medicine on Brucellosis eradication policy in the United States, 1920 – 1955’
  • Third Prize Floor HaalboomDescartes Centre and Julius Centre, UMC Utrecht (Netherlands), ‘Salmonella cycles and disciplinary boundaries: Medical and/or veterinary authority on ‘The Salmonellosis Problem’ in the Netherlands, 1959-1978


  • Saurabh Mishra (UK)
  • Kerstin Weich (Germany) poster presentation
  • Savas Genc (Turkey) poster presentation


  • First Prize: Tim Newfield (Canada), “A Cattle Panzootic in Early Fourteenth-century Europe.”
  • Second Prize: Delphine Berdah (France/UK), “Between Food and Drug: Antibiotics in Bristish Farming, 1946-1959.”
  • Third Prize: Berfin Melikoğlu (Turkey), “The Historical Development of the First Society for Animal Protection in Turkey.”


  • Dr. Abigail Woods (UK)

Cheiron Medal Award

In 1964 the first symposium on the history of veterinary medicine was organized in Hanover by the section “History of Veterinary Medicine” of the German Society of Veterinary Medicine. During the 6th symposium in Hanover the World Association for the History of Veterinary Medicine (WAHVM) was created.

In 1973 the Association created the Cheiron Emblem. Sixteen years later, the Cheiron Medal was endowed to allow the World Association to express thanks and acknowledgement for special achievements in the field of history of veterinary medicine. The Cheiron Medal was bestowed for the first time on May 26th, 1989.

  • 2012 Dr. Miguel Marquez, Mexico
  • 2006 Dr. Vicente Dualde Perez, Spain
  • 2005 Dr. Robert H. Dunlop, USA
  • 2004 Prof. Adriano Mantovani, Italy and Prof. Alba Veggetti, Italy
  • 2003 Prof. Dr. Miguel Cordero del Campillo, Spain and Prof.Dr. Ferruh Dinçer, Turkey
  • 2002 Dr. Leon Z. Saunders, USA
  • 2001 Dr. Osamu Katsuyama, Japan, Prof. Dr. Jenõ Kováts, Hungary, and Drs. A.H.H.M. Mathijsen, The Netherlands
  • 2000 Norman Comben D.V.M., UK and Prof. Dr. Angela von den Driesch, Germany
  • 1998 Dr. Helmut Wentges, Germany
  • 1994 Prof. Dr. Ernst-Heinrich Lochmann, Germany
  • 1993 Dr. Ivan Katić, Denmark and Dr. Karl-Heinz Klatt, Finland
  • 1992 Prof. Dr. Juan Figueroa, Peru and Dr. August Lange, Germany
  • 1990 Prof. Dr. Joergen Gert Espersen, Denmark and Dr. Hanns Martin Wens, Germany
  • 1989 Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Rieck, Germany and Dr. Hansjürg Joller, Switzerland

Other Awards

On April 18th, 2002, Dr. Georges Theves from Briedel, Luxembourgh was awarded by the George Sarton Committee, University of Ghent, Belgium with the Sarton Medal for his contributions to the history of veterinary medicine.

On September 8th, 2000 Dr.Ivan Katić was made a honorary doctor of Eesti Pöllumajandusülikool (Estonian Agricultural University) in Tartu “for his merits to arrange a fruitful scientific cooperation between the Estonian Agricultural University and the Danish Royal Veterinary and Agricultural University”.

Prof.Dr. E.-H. Lochmann was honoured with the University medal of Leipzig University. He received this medal on June, 11th, 1999 from the hands of the Rector Magnificus of Leipzig University for his lecturing on veterinary history and especially for his initiative to organize a Veterinary History Museum at the Veterinary Faculty.

On February 18th,1999 Dr. P.A. Koolmees, teacher of veterinary history at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Utrecht University, received the Sarton Medal, conferred by the Sarton Committee of Ghent University, for his contributions to the history of science in general and for the history of veterinary medicine in particular.

At the occasion of the 225th anniversary of veterinary education in Denmark in 1998 Dr. Ivan Katić, publisher of Historia Medicinae Veterinariae, curator of the Danish Veterinary History Museum and teacher of veterinary history at the Veterinær- og Landbohøjskole, was honoured with the Abildgaard Medal in Gold.

One thought on “Awards

  1. I’m a PhD. Student, I want to come WAHVM congress 2016, but I can’t come, I have a master’s thesis on history of embryology (history of science), a book titled Mabâdî-i Fenn-i Rüşeym, written by Ali Vehbi Türküstün, I’ll always follow WAHVM Congresses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *