During the General Assembly Meeting (GAM) at Munich in September 1997, the proposal was adopted to reconstitute the WAHVM Board in order to involve all member societies and individual members more actively in the current and future affairs of the WAHVM.

The Board of the Association will consist of a President, Vice-President, Secretary/Treasurer and one or two members in order to:

  • Conduct all business of the Association in the interval between two General Assembly meetings
  • Execute the decisions of the previous General Assembly meeting, while reporting the results to the next meeting
  • Prepare the General Assembly meetings
  • Take any appropriate step and/or decision on matters concerning the Association, which arise in between two General Assembly meetings. The Board shall inform the members about these steps/decisions taken as soon as convenient.

Board Members

Abigail Woods, Kings College, UK

Joaquin Sanches de Lollano Prieto, Universidad Complutense – Moncloa, Spain

Tijmen van de Vuurst, Dutch Association for the History of Veterinary Medicine, Netherlands

Peter A. Koolmees, Veterinary Public Health, University of Utrecht, Netherlands

Susan D. Jones, History of Science and Technology, University of Minnesota, USA

Andrew Gardiner, The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies, University of Edinburgh, UK

Liason Committee

Furthermore, a ‘liaison committee’ was established to initiate and direct working groups and other (scientific) activities-/assignments of the Association. This committee should be composed of one representative nominated by each subscribing National Society; individuals, nominated by the WAHVM Board and elected by the General Assembly.

The members of the liaison committee will also serve as a soundingboard to the Board and will be invited to participate in the (annual) Board meeting.

  • Jeff Brady (Australia)
  • Gerald Weissengruber (Austria)
  • Karel Kovarik (Czech Republic)
  • Kurt Jensen (Denmark)
  • Ilkka Alitalo (Finland)
  • Christophe Degueurce (France)
  • Johann Schäffer (Germany)
  • Péter Sotönyi (Hungary)
  • Junya Yasuda (Japan)
  • Marquez Miguel (Mexico)
  • Jons Straatman (Netherlands)
  • Roar Gudding (Norway)
  • Myung Sun Chung (South Korea)
  • Joaquin Sanches de Lollano Prieto (Spain)
  • Stephan Häsler (Switzerland)
  • Clare Boulton (UK)
  • Naudy Trujillo Mascia (Venezuela)
  • Peter Bols (Belgium)
  • Karl Bruno (Sweden)
  • Gøran Jønsson (Sweden)
  • Gareth Bath (South Africa)
  • Heather Moberly (USA)

Board Minutes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *